Can-Am Maverick Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a noob to Can-Am... I am looking pretty seriously at a 2016 Maverick Turbo... You all are the experts, can you tell me what problem areas there are on these machines? This one is in good shape with 160 hours and under 1500 miles. Highlifter A-Arms. What do I need to look for as far as problem areas.
Thank you!
TFB

·
Registered
533 Posts
They're fun machines, but if you can step your budget up a little, the X3 is where it's at! We have a 16 non turbo and a couple 19 X3's. Power aside, the ride quality of the X3 makes it worth the jump over the OG's in my opinion.

·
Premium Member
14,633 Posts
Welcome from Tucson AZ. 2nd the X3, if your budget allows it. Look for a first year 17, not a whole lot of differences between that and the 22. 22 has more hp, reinforced frame, different clutch, different gauge, among the changes, but the 17 is still very similar.

Reactions: tallfarmboy

·
Registered
2017 Can-am Maverick 1000r DPS
143 Posts
I have a 17 OG, non turbo Maverick. I've been very happy with it. Reliable, decent ride, plenty of power for me. Good luck

Reactions: tallfarmboy

·
Registered
443 Posts
16 turbo is a good rig. Heat in cab and rough ride are the issues with it. They are reliable rigs. But your riding terrain & budget will determine what rig you should get. This gets asked constantly so search and you will find more to read on it.

·
Registered
1,087 Posts
I had a 16 turbo, no heat in the cab for me, I got 1000 out of a belt and it was reliable but the x3 out performs on every level even after having ct raceworx revalve and spring my shocks on the 16
If you're getting a real good deal I say go for it, they are fun fast reliable machines but if the x3 is close in price I would get the x3

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·