Can-Am Maverick Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Folks,
I have to fine tune my clutch.
My setup is the STM Rage3 and the STM Gen2.
Motor is stock, tires are stock. Elevation 6000 feet.

My shift out right now is at 7400-7500, engagement at around 2500.
I'd like to get my shift out to 7800-7900 and the engagement lowered to about 1800-2000.

What weights would you add and in which location?

Thanks a bunch folks.

Alex

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

·
Registered
6,621 Posts
I'm not an expert on the clutch so I would recommend you to PM Kris from cold blooded performance.

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Desertdog,

I did PM Kris yesterday, no response yet.....well, it's been weekend, so hopefully he will get back to me tomorrow.

·
Registered
272 Posts
Best bet with Kris is text him or email but he answers texting much easier.

·
Registered
272 Posts
If you don't mind let us know what he said, just in case someone is curious with same question sometimes.

Thanks man, good luck with the tuning.
Nathan

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
If you don't mind let us know what he said, just in case someone is curious with same question sometimes.

Thanks man, good luck with the tuning.
Nathan
Well, here is where I started.
The clutch came with following configuration.
Spring in primary is yellow or gold
Spring in secondary is pink.
tungsten and 4 washers on the heel.
4 washers in the center
2 washers at the tip

Shift out was at around 7300 roughly.

I took the 4 washers off from the heel and added 2 washers to the tip.

Therefore, new configuration is as follows.
Tungsten at the heel
4 washers at the center
4 washers at the tip.

Shift out now is at around 7400 Rpms....
I had bad over rev during take off and the tires were spinning like crazy so I guess my last run was not really representative.

Kris suggested to take the tungsten off the heel and leave the rest as is.