Can-Am Maverick Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Vendor
594 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone know or heard of some slow Mavericks?

I finally got a chance to race my xp against my Maverick and the XP smokes the Maverick, never a competition. Starting to wonder now about the dyno numbers.

Was just emailing back and forth with someone who has contact at a big dealership in PA and they have reports of some slow ones.

I admit I am totally new to the Maverick electronics but is there anyway the key is programmed wrong or something. Top speed so far has been 76 but acceleration is not what the reports are saying it is.

The xp has 26x9 light tires all the way around, Dalton clutch kit, muzzy pipe and gen 4 fuel controller.

Was reading on here stock mavericks out running XP's with stage II cams etc.

When my power commander gets here I will know if the throttle is opening all the way or not.

Anyone have experience at this?

·
Registered
998 Posts
I would have the dealer reflash the ECM and reflash the key, make sure you are running atleast 91 octane since the maverick requires that atleast .. Anything less than 91 the knock sensors will detect a knock and cut timing back, if yours is brand new its possible the dealer put 87 in it. And there's a chance you have a bad secondary spring from the factory which has been tossed around from time to time

·
Vendor
594 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would have the dealer reflash the ECM and reflash the key, make sure you are running atleast 91 octane since the maverick requires that atleast .. Anything less than 91 the knock sensors will detect a knock and cut timing back, if yours is brand new its possible the dealer put 87 in it. And there's a chance you have a bad secondary spring from the factory which has been tossed around from time to time
Dealer is 250 miles away and I already put Dalton clutch kit in, quicker with it in there too.

·
Registered
853 Posts