Can-Am Maverick Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll be the first to admit that I'm a leadfoot driver most of the time. but today I had my 5y/o, 8y/o, and MOM in the Mav max with me in Ocotillio Wells. We were there for a day trip. Rode from HWY 78 at Pole Line Rd. to Gas Domes, from there took the sand washes to the Pumpkin Patch, then to Shell Reef and back to Pole Line Rd. to load up and head home. While driving down Pole Line Rd. (pretty silty) 35-40 mph I heard the belt start to go and within a couple seconds it was gone and I had no power to the wheels.

I was lucky enough to have some folks in and old Rhino pull up within 20 minutes and offered to tow me to my truck/trailer. For the life of me, I have no idea what I could have done wrong to have my belt shred with so few miles. I know some people have had their stock belt for well over 1500 miles and others have had theirs let go like mine. I'm bummed.

The funny thing is, I bought an extra belt on Friday afternoon before heading home to load the MAV on the trailer. What I didn't do was look into how to change a belt and what tools would be necessary to do a field change.

Does anyone have a link to the service manual that covers how to change a belt?? :question:

·
Registered
206 Posts
Low or high range in the silty stuff?

·
Registered
4,536 Posts
yes run L gear when loaded up and not on hard pack

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Low or high range in the silty stuff?
It was in high range.

yes run L gear when loaded up and not on hard pack
I didn't know that. I have the sport mode ow range switch harness installed and still never thought to drop it down in those conditions. Ugh. Lesson learned.

·
Registered
4,536 Posts
break the new belt in not to hard not to easy cycle it thru heat stages , first 15-20 miles they say ,

just seen u run 31'' tires also and your a 4 seater for sure run low gear, and if it still happens then upgrade the clutch

·