Can-Am Maverick Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I know that the clutches with the Mav's have been huge topic of conversation. I am not an expert on clutches. I wish I was. I know enough to get in trouble though. I posted a thread earlier about the 24V starting system. I also spent alot of time with CanAM factory drivers while I was in Georgia on what kind of clutch setups they are running. Just so everyone knows GNCC is Possibly one of the toughest racing series on equipment that I have been able to find. These guys race for about an hour and 15 minutes and it is honestly balls to the walls as fast as these cars will go. Back to the topic of conversation though. I met the owner of NC Powersports and he was really helpful and open on what he was running, Full STM. He was the only person that I talked to that was running aftermarket clutches. He said after the race that they performed awesome. Everyone else was running stock clutches. This is what they are doing. 1. According to them where the primary halves seat together on the taper, the tapers don't fit together correctly, which equals the bolts breaking without the "slipper washers". I talked to some people that had the "slipper washers and was told that the clutch of course still slips and puts alot of pressure on the bolt. In theory if the taper is correct when it is put together it shouldn't just come apart when the bolt holding them together is removed. I personally watched someone take the bolt out and outer half of the primary came off by hand. Shouldn't this take a puller to get apart???? He took lapping compound and lapped the tapers together until it was seated correctly. Once he cleaned the lapping compound, he placed the outer part of the primary back on and gave a smack with his hand and it wouldn't come back off. It took a puller this time. He raced for a full hour with out any issues. I haven't got a free minute to do this on my maverick but i'm going to