Can-Am Maverick Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had my Maverick for a little over a month now with 3 trips to the Dunes (Mostly 2 Hi) and one to the woods Have about 333/mi on it. Thinking about changing the belt before my big 4day weekend trip back to the dunes.

Tires: 26" Sand Star Paddles with 26" sand star fronts / Stock Big Horns

Not smelling any rubber or noticing any issues just wasn't sure how long these belts last in the dunes. Read somewhere that the estimate was (350 - 450mi in the dunes) Just I know Murphy's law of it will break only at the worst possible time.

Are the CVT Blowers and Dunes Clutch Kit worth doing?

So Should I Change the belt ahead of time or It should have some good life left?

·
Registered
47 Posts
Im a noob with ATVs. I assumed belts lasted years. Do you guys beat the shit out of them - is that why?

·
Registered
6,621 Posts
I had 409 miles on my first factory belt. I replaced it when I installed my new clutches so now I have brand new belt to start off the season and I have broken in replacement. I like to start the season with a new belt no matter what because its easier to change it in the garage than out on the trail or dunes.

Reactions: maddmaxx

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Im a noob with ATVs. I assumed belts lasted years. Do you guys beat the shit out of them - is that why?
I'm kinda of new to these whole CVT Clutches too that use a belt to connect the engine to the transmission. Its a rubber belt with Various re-enforcement materials (Kevlar, Zylon etc...) and it will break eventually. The more, Load, heat and slippage just decrease the life span. Oregon Sand dunes just puts more load on a bike. Ever try to walk up hill in the sand. You will notice it takes much more energy vs dirt or pavement.

·
Registered
37 Posts
I just ordered the STM blower also. Was it hard to install?

·
Registered
78 Posts