Can-Am Maverick Forum banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I can appreciate the fact that the Max is a four seater, designed for those who want to bus the family around, but as far as power, handling, and agility, can it even compare to the XRS ?? Another thing that puzzles me is why Can Am would put the same 1000 cc motor in the Max that's in the XRS ?? If you think about it, The Max has a much longer and heavier frame and is designed to hold two more people, Now, I'm no rocket scientist, but it seems to me like you would have a much heavier vehicle and payload, how can you use the same motor ?? wouldn't it be an underpowered dog ?? Would you feel comfortable in the dunes with 4 people in it ?? I would compare it to the same as Ford putting a 4 cylinder Ranger motor into an F-350. Am I missing something here ?? what do you guys think ??

·
Registered
82 Posts
I have not driven a 2 seat version, but have a 2014 Mav Max XRS and it has plenty of power. I also have a 250 hp Tomcar, which granted is a completely different type of offroad vehicle. But the Max is as fast as that puppy is, if not faster. I also haven't hit the top end yet as I'm still in the break in period but my friends who've been with me on both agree that the Max would at least keep up with the Tomcar, if not beat it. And again, I've got a 250 hp RX1 race engine in the Tomcar.

·
Registered
4,535 Posts
that's kind of like say why doesnt ford/chevy put a smaller motor in the standard cab 3/4 trucks - and a bigger motor in the 4 door long bed 1 ton trucks with a boom lift ?

cuz the motor can handle a few hundred more pounds

rzr ,wildcat, teryx, ranger , didn't make a bigger motor for the 4 seater lol

Reactions: bulldogs101

·
Hickory, NC
2,958 Posts
If that 1000 in the max is that much fun, then imagine how much more is in the XRS not having to lug around all that extra mass. One thing I haven't seen is a drag race between the two which would be fun

·