Can-Am Maverick Forum banner
1 - 20 of 72 Posts

· Registered
2021 Maverick Sport X RC
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Maverick Sport X RC – Stuff

Just wanted to chronicle my adventures with this rig. I’m new to side-by-sides but have had some off-roading experience. I dabble in metalworking, so looking forward to doing a couple modifications and add-ons to this rig.

Received my Sport X RC one week ago today. Ordered 4 point harnesses, helmets, and a spare tire to go with it. Still waiting on the helmets and tire (“will be here any day now”).

20201217_184039s

20201217_183038s

First thing I did was take the wife on a quick 10 minute ride (we live by the White Tank Mountains and the desert is about a quarter mile away from us) to make sure everything works and nothing fell off. Pulled it into the shop and got to work on the harnesses. A little unnerving to start tearing into a brand new car.

20201219_163008

While pulling the belts off I noticed that these two nuts were loose on either side of the car. I just downloaded the manual about a half hour ago and haven’t figured out what they are for yet. Guessing (hoping) an add-on or something not related to this model.

20201219_162427

Removal of the bottom bolt was a pain but not insurmountable. Used regular open/box wrench, and one long-handled ratcheting wrench for removal/install. I did sacrifice one bolt to the black hole of the skid pan, dropped it and didn’t recover it. The funny part of this story for me was the two upper attachments at the roll cage. The harnesses came with these little bolt-on brackets and I got target fixation trying to make them work with the little tabs welded to the cage.

20201219_191038

Not only did the seats not fit due to clearance issues, but it didn’t seem right to have the strap twisted before it goes through the seats. In my defense it was getting late and I was pretty tired. So I made a couple little bolt-on brackets to alter the approach angle.

20201220_053317