Can-Am Maverick Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3,127 Posts
I came across this right before I bought the Maverick. I broke mine in this way cause I'd rather have the engine run hard then worry about how long the CVT belt last.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Thanks for sharing, that's an interesting read. Especially about doing an early oil change. I'm not a mechanic but article makes sense.

·
Banned
546 Posts
My thoughts are Beat it from first start.. I build nothing but Hight HP diesels and Turbo gas engines and tunes for these.. Ive never Broke a Engine in I rip it like I built it for from first start.. never failed me and rings seat real quick.. Nothing else to Break in...

·
Registered
5,752 Posts
My Brother and I follow this method to and have done it this way for many years now with great results.

·
Registered
502 Posts
My dealer didn't tell me about break in period n I didn't find this forum tell way late but I broke mine in like I broke in very truck diesel n gas I have bought..... Leg extended knee locked n pedal down not only that but I was one of the only mavericks in a crap load of poo so I had to race everyone that weekend didn't lose one race but they were all lifted or a lot of extras weighing em down still I had that machine at 77 more than 20 mph all weekend

·
Registered
3,127 Posts
Also, there's one picture in there of a pair of Honda race motorcycle engines. 1 was broken in with the Moto Man method, and the other was broken in according to manufacturer's recommendations. At the end of the season both motors were torn down. The piston that was broken in with the Moto Man method looked brand new. The other piston you could tell that it had blow by all season long and it was black and thrashed. That picture is what did it for me.

·
Registered
7,381 Posts
I guess my only reservation to this balls-to-the-wall break-in procedure is this.