Can-Am Maverick Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been wondering if removing that vagina style rubber plug at the bottom of the filter housing and capping it with .......... would keep more unwanted things out ie; water, snow, sand, dirt....
I currently have the brp prefilter screen and the brp/twinair foam filter. But if capping that off would also help I'm all about it.
So....has anyone done this?

·
Registered
969 Posts
I wondered the same, I kinda researched it a little and it's designed that way for a reason, but I still wondered if it would help keep dirt out. The tire is blasting that thing with dust etc.

·
Premium Member
14,637 Posts
Interesting, sub'd! I'd like to know too.

·
Premium Member
1,552 Posts
Agreed, give it a try. The last years turbo was designed with a closed cap, you could purchase the optional duckbill cap as well.

·
Premium Member
14,637 Posts
I'm new to Can Am, and I thought it was a little weird, but there has to be some type of reasoning for it?

·
Premium Member
8,191 Posts
I've opened my duck bill and some sand has come out so I think it's doing its job and collecting sand that finds its way to the airbox. I've since added the canam prefilter so we will see if sand still collects. If it does, it's probably from entering in the duck bill at that point. I think older mav owners were adding the drain since they didn't come with it stock. Easier way to empty out the air box if nothing else.

·
Registered
1,128 Posts
My '16 Maverick Turbo actually came with the cap (p/n 715900354) on the airbox. I ended up ordering the duck bill (p/n 714003114) later so I could empty any sand out quickly. I think the cap will be OK as long as you check it often.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·