Can-Am Maverick Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for a little help on getting my rig to handle right. I have been riding with a wildcat that is kicking my butt on the trails that we run for practice. First off I am new to SxS racing. I have always done rock crawling and mountain trails. There is a local circuit of 4-5 races that I want to do with the Mav.

Info on my setup

Mav Xrs with 30 inch Dominators 10-12 lbs of air.

Rear shocks- 5 rounds of preload taken out. about 6-8 clicks of rebound (from slow side) and compression about 4 clicks from softest

Front shocks- 3 rounds of preload taken out. rebound and compression about the same as rears.

Straight line I am way faster than the Wildcat but in the corners I am pushing too much to hold my speed. I feel a lot of body roll and worry about sliding and catching an edge. It feels squrrilly turning when going fast. I usually run in 2 but in 4 I feel that the front helps pull me out of the corners. The Cat just seems to stay planted better than I do. The ride as currently setup feels great going down the trail at speed, super smooth and stable, but the corners are a different story.

I don't have P/S yet but ordered it today. Will this make a difference in what I am feeling?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
8,276 Posts
30" tires and you want it to handle like a sports car? in my opinion, too tall of a tire with too much sidewall flex. Its give and take with the large tires you now have more ground clearance and raised your cog (center of gravity) which will put more stress on the swaybar and let the car lean more in corners which lets the inside tire loose traction and pushes on the outside tire.

·
Registered
707 Posts