Can-Am Maverick Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Took my Mav out to Little Sahara in Oklahoma today for its maiden dune voyage. It was really good, but thrashed a front axle. I'm new at this SxS thing, so I'm looking for some advice. I broke the outboard "knuckle" on the axle and it really surprised me. I haven't seen a lot of complaints about the axles and I want to make sure I'm not doing anything stupid. I enjoy using the FWD while jumping. I feel like I have more control with the FWD and I'm afraid of losing traction while jumping slightly and lawn darting the damn thing. So... Am I abusing the FWD? Should I keep it pinned in 2WD and not worry about losing traction? Also, I do alot of very aggressive trail riding. Could I have damaged it accelerating too hard and cranking the wheel. Remember, I'm in sand. The last thing and most likely the obvious reason for my short weekend of riding... My uncle rolled it back at home and bent a tie rod and lower a-arm, but haven't gotten the parts in to fix it yet. Its driveable and today was most likely the last decent day of riding before the summer heat sets in, so I took it out. Could this be the main factor in thrashing this axle. Sorry for the lengthy post. Thanks!

·
Registered
707 Posts
I'm from Oklahoma to and run in 4wd about 95% of the time. Only time I'm not its diving down a dirt road or on pavement. Just let off the gas before you land the jump.

·
Registered
2,964 Posts
Axle problems on the same side as the bent tie rod and bent A arm? If so, I would guess that there was more damage than you thought.

·
Registered
6,621 Posts
I also drive in 4wd most of the time when in the dunes. Yes you need to let off the gas before you land. This is exactly why they have a shaft saver.

·
Registered
4,536 Posts
Axle problems on the same side as the bent tie rod and bent A arm? If so, I would guess that there was more damage than you thought.