Can-Am Maverick Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
9,855 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Figured I would start a second thread for the front end of my overhaul/maintenance fun. My intention was to replace the front axles and a-arm bushings and to check everything to see how things were holding with just under 7900 miles. No real issues with the front end other than a torn lower ball joint boot, which will result in me replacing all the ball joints.

I forgot how much fun it is to dismantle the front of the X3. It has been a while since I had everything apart. Thankfully the axles popped out easily.

The stock a-arm bushings were in decent shape just a little on the dry side. I probably should of hit them with the grease gun. LOL! I am replacing them with the Sandcraft bushings I have been holding on to for almost 2 years.

The wheel bearings and hubs look like they are in decent shape considering I never added any grease to the wheel bearings. Maybe they do come with enough grease from the factor. I do ride in wet or muddy conditions so I am sure that helps. I was expecting the retaining clips to be all gone but everything was intact. I will be replacing the wheel bearings and hubs just because I have everything apart and might as well do it now. Plus it is not a super expensive part to replace.

I am happy to report my HMF gusset kit has maintained the bolt holes to the original factory shitty tolerances. No extra wallowing of the bolt holes. Also my stock lower a-arms with the Extreme Performance taco kit are holding up.

Have to order up some parts and hope to have it all back together by next weekend.

Attachments

·
Registered
496 Posts
Nick at Adrenalin SAYS Can Am makes and sells a knuckle that takes a larger, more durable wheel bearing - says they sell em to race teams.

Learned this AFTER I bought several OEM spare knuckles, but the ones that came with the car DO seem to hold up alright.