Can-Am Maverick Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Maverick clutch engagement has been steadily getting rougher. I now have 90 hours on it. Took it to the dealer, they drove it and agreed that, at launch, it has a "jerky" response. They opened it up and told me they could find no wear on belt, or clutch's and had no answer. They had performed the factory recall bolt/washer replacement at 15 hours. I am no mechanic, but do read forum posts frequently. Would changing the secondary spring/helix setting be useful? What should the factory setting be (b1 or a1)? I doubt that they disassembled the secondary to check that. I just want a smooth, low rpm transition when starting to move out. I have no other issues with this machine.

·
Registered
998 Posts
Sounds like a belt. I assume you mean it's jerking pulling out from a dead stop under light throttle. My friends commander does this since he slipped the belt, dealer told him belt is fine. I think some dealers don't have a clue when it comes to inspecting belts

·
Registered
4,536 Posts
You have 90 hours on your maverick ? Nice !

Sent from my maverick using Tapatalk 2

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It is better in low, but still jerks when at low rpm. In addition, it doesn't turn easily. Feels almost as if in 4 wd.

·
Registered
468 Posts
I agree, probably needs a new belt. Dealer didnt know wtf he was doing.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks to all of you. I am going back tomorrow to get a new belt. I have done a lot of hard rock and sand climbing that has overheated the belt a number of times. Guess that is the price you pay for having fun.

·
Registered
417 Posts
Glad to hear no clutch probs with that many hours combined with that type of riding, although I dont think 90 hrs alot of time for a belt?

·
Registered
2,067 Posts
At least you can hang onto the old belt to use as an emergency spare.

·
Registered
322 Posts