Can-Am Maverick Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im patiently waiting for my 14' Maverick to arrive. Im new to Can Am and have read all the horror stories about the clutch systems. From what I can tell they "fixed" the bolt problem associated with the 13' model. My question is did they change anything else (weights, helix, etc.) to help the performance/life of the clutch sytems on the 14'??

·
Registered
6,621 Posts
I dont have a 2014 so I cant comment 100% but my guess would be no.
They may have solved the big issue with the bolt but I doubt they changed the 2 piece design, which sucks IMO. So it will still let the belt slip which lessens performance and belt life. However it will work and you can learn to drive it so its not too hard on belts, but thats a process. I am a believer in the aftermarket clutches to help improve overall performance and the driving experience.

·
Registered
7,381 Posts
welcome to the forum and on your new purchase......yes, there have been very few complaints since the recall was introduced. To answer your question is a bit tricky......according to the parts data base they did not change anything in the clutches but according to some folks who have had to purchase some new weights have shown that the new weights are slightly different than the original 2013 weights but the part numbers are the same. So on the surface it looks as if no changes were made but it looks like there were some small changes.

·
Registered
711 Posts
the clutch is identical
the weights are the same
the springs are the same
the helix in the secondary is the same

they changed the bolt design to the new stud which does keep the bolt from shearing and popping the primary thru the cover BUT that clutch still slips the belt under loads as it is designed to